Contents
How to Start Writing a Research Paper
Use the reference sources below to:
- help define a topic
- place a topic in context
- get an overview of scholarly thought on a topic
- help you focus and develop a thesis for your paper
Articles in reference sources often list articles, books, and websites for further reading, in sections entitled Bibliography, Suggested Reading, Further Information, etc.
Guidelines on Writing a Philosophy Paper by Jim Pryor, NYU
Guidelines on Reading Philosophy by Jim Pryor, NYU
Reference Resources
Databases and web sites:
- Credo Reference Search for articles in >600 reference books.
- Dictionary of Existentialism Haim Gordon, ed. Greenwood Press, 1999.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- The Oxford Companion to Philosophy 2nd ed. Ted Honderich, ed. Oxford University Press, 2005.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Reference Books:
- The Cambridge history of later medieval philosophy [1100-1600]. Norman Kretzmann et al, eds. Cambridge UP, 1982. B721.C35 Ref
- Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy Antonio S. Cua, ed. Routledge, 2003. B 126 .E496 Ref
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Alan Charles Kors, ed. Oxford UP, 2003. 4 vols. B802 .E53 Ref
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Donald M. Borchert, ed. Macmillan Reference, 2006. 10 vols. B 51.E53 Ref.
- A History of Greek Philosophy. W.K.C. Guthrie. Cambridge UP, 1977. 3 vols. B171.F82 Ref
- International Philosophical Bibliography Katholieke Universiteit te Leuven, 2000-2003. B8 .D T54 Ref
- World Philosophy: Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works. Frank N. Magill, ed. Salem Press, 1982. B 29.W68 Ref
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
